The Sustainable Business Council Blog


November Featured Member – Walking Stick Toys
October 26, 2010, 7:22 PM
Filed under: Uncategorized

Business is going well. I love my Hip Strip location and my store is celebrating her 5th birthday on November 1st. It has been a very fun 5 years bringing eco-friendly, sustainable toys to Missoulians. We started out small and our inventory has grown into a giant rainbow, very colorful and fun. We have play space in the back for kiddos while their ‘big person’ shops. My mission upon opening was to provide wood, wool, cotton and silk toys and I’ve been able to incorporate a lot of really unique toys, many of which are locally made. We are always on the lookout for new things.

We just recently added some new manufacturers, The Original Tree Swing is one of them, they provide wooden toys from reclaimed trees. We do have a web presence but we don’t have quite as many products on the web site as we do in our physical location. We’ve stuck to our mission of providing only natural safe toys so with all of the ongoing recalls you can feel confident choosing products for the children in your life at Walking Stick Toys.

Some people think that WST is a baby/toddler store, I think that is because of the diaper store front (my good friends that own Nature Boy and I share our location), but upon entering the back of the store you’ll find toys for kids up to 99. It is tricky to find quality green toys for older kids, but I’ve really expanded my game selection, art supplies, and outdoor toys and they are good for any age. Our fun marble tracks and some of our cooperative games are even fun for me, so we can assist you in finding toys to suit preteens. The store is growing and my kids are growing up with it, which was another very important thing to me, I wanted to keep them with me during their first several years of life and my store has created that flexibility for me. It is pretty rare that you’ll see me at my store without Simon and Gus (or at least one or the other of them).

We love our store, it is our home away from home and we love to share it with our amazing community!

I have a really fun upcoming event, it is our Annual Holiday Open House on Saturday the 27th of November. Big Sales, Snacks donated by Farm to Family (one of our new collaborations!) and Santa from 1-3. The sale goes all day but photos and chatting with Santa are from 1-3.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

